Cooper hangs up on show after Dayan question

southsider2k5

http://www.chicagotribune.com/sports/baseb...0,1354830.story

Don Cooper gets paid to do a sports-talk radio appearance each Thursday morning, but the Chicago White Sox pitching coach cut the session short this week, angrily hanging up on the hosts after being asked whether Dayan Viciedo could help the team's struggling offense.

"I have no clue about that. I'm a coach," Cooper fumed during his session on "The Mully & Hanley Show" on WSCR-AM 670. "Do I feel like something (needs to be done)? Yeah, we have to score some runs. That's what's got to be done. And if we do, we have a chance to win. And if we don't, we won't.

"Nice try, asking me to bring up (bleeping) Viciedo. I not in charge of making moves, I'm in charge of coaching."

When host Brian Hanley told Cooper that he wasn't trying to put him on the spot, Cooper hung up.

Earlier, Cooper had taken issue with a statement about pitcher Phil Humber having had two bad outings recently, correcting it to "one bad outing and one bad inning (Sunday at Detroit) ... now your question, please."

• Replies 152
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

He got real full of himself after 05.

I'm not saying he's not good at what he does. Clearly he has paid dividends as a pitching coach.

But it may be time for him to stay away from the microphones. If all he's doing is promoting his camps, then he's got to learn to not be such a dick.

Edited by flavum

QUOTE (bigruss22 @ Jul 21, 2011 -> 10:17 AM)
And this is why Coop will not be offered the manager position if it becomes opened. He can't handle the media well at all.

I was about to say this exact same thing. He's way too touchy and defensive. I even hear it in his voice when he talks to Ranger on the pre-game show.