Horrible High School Crime re. Football Team

greg775

I've never understood these hazing crimes.

Seven high school football upperclassmen in Jersey are likely facing prison time for basically raping freshmen in the locker room. Four kids would allegedly pin the freshman player down while others did bad sexual stuff to the freshman.

I've read stories in the past about high school and even college teams doing this kind of stuff. If I'm a head football coach the first day of practice or at a team meeting the day before practice I read the players the riot act. I tell them "there is no f***ing hazing in my program. I don't care if it's a "tradition" to haze, it will not happen. We are a team, freshmen through seniors. If I get word of anybody doing anything improper you are not only off the team but the cops will be notified immediately."

Geezus. WTF were these 7 kids thinking. Thankfully my frat didn't haze in college aside from the seniors throwing eggs at us after we returned from Walkout. I'd have quit that frat before I let anybody haze me. I don't let anybody abuse me physically even if its tradition passed down. Also no sports teams I ever played on pulled this bulls***. Any of u been "hazed?"

http://www.nj.com/middlesex/index.ssf/2014...al_assault.html

Edited by greg775

The coming of age and membership rituals go back centuries. From long periods of fasting and isolation to debutante balls they all are part of the same ritual behavior arc. We have graduations, retirement parties, swearing in ceremonies, and dedications. Think about the blood brother rituals, the fight your way in, or sex your way in to certain groups. Prove you are tough, can take pain, be silent, respect the traditions, etc.

Now why do some groups take these to extremes?

QUOTE (Tex @ Oct 12, 2014 -> 02:51 PM)