Chris Sale has a foot injury

Baron

• Replies 163
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Chicago White Sox ‏@whitesox 28s28 seconds ago

Chris Sale suffered an avulsion fracture on his right foot in an accident at his home yesterday. He is expected to be sidelined 3 weeks.

Chicago White Sox @whitesox · 27s 28 seconds ago

Sale underwent x-rays this am & will undergo further tests once swelling subsides. His status for Opening Day will be better determined then

https://twitter.com/whitesox

QUOTE (Dunt @ Feb 28, 2015 -> 01:34 PM)
Much more worried that this will affect his arm prep leading up to the season

this....over or under compensation on his motion? But what do I know...I'm not a doctor. But this is a weird injury bug that's hit Chicago sports this week.

White Sox ace Chris Sale out 3 weeks with foot injury

Posted: 02/28/2015, 11:59am | Daryl Van Schouwen

White Sox lefty Chris Sale.

GLENDALE, Ariz. – White Sox ace Chris Sale suffered an avulsion fracture on the lateral side of his right foot in an accident at his home Friday and is expected to be out three weeks.

Sale, 25, had x-rays take Saturday morning at Banner Estrella Hospital in Glendale, Ariz. The Sox released a statement that said Sale “will undergo further tests once the swelling in his foot has subsided. At that point, his status for Opening Day will be better determined.”

Sale was not forthcoming about how the injury occurred. He joked that it happened during an encounter with an intruder.

“Obviously the concerns are that I’ve got a swollen foot and you are like oh, crap that really hurts,” Sale said. “But things happen and you can’t really, it was really just a freak incident. I’ve just done it a million times and this time it didn’t work out so well.”

General manager Rick Hahn said Sale hurt himself unloading his truck but deferred to Sale for details.