Just some thoughts

mrzo2733

I have been a member of soxtalk for about 10 months now. I have enjoyed reading and thinking about many of the things that all of you have written. I think that this season has now led me to a weird place. A place I never really though I would be. We are within 4 games of winning the World Series. It finally hit me today as I was driving and listening to Mac Jurko and Harry. I have so many thoughts about everything that is going on I just kind of wanted to let it all go at once.

Firstly, I am incredibly bothered by all the fair-weather fans that have adopted the Sox. This past weekend was my old college's homecoming ( I graduated about a year and a half ago now.) I decided that I wanted to represent the team and so I wore my He Gone shirt. It was fun in a sense but in another sense I wish I didn't wear it. Many people throughout the night would shout "He Gone!" and I would return in right back. But I just saw way too many people wearing Sox stuff. I would find myself wanting to go up to people and start quizzing them on the roster. The part that really sucks is that this is actually taking away some of my enjoyment from seeing my favorite sports team in the biggest of series. I wish it wasn't so, but it is. The best way I've heard it put was on the radion one day when they compared it to a band that you were there for the beginning for and once they actually make it, it's just not the same.

Secondly, I have really enjoyed reading the "Win it for..." thread. This is a very special thing we are witnessing and there are so many who are no longer around who deserve it so much. It is very appropriate that we remember them.