Jump to content

one-point safety


Texsox

Recommended Posts

But because the Longhorns' regular holder, wide receiver Tony Jeffery, left the game earlier with a rib injury, backup QB Matt Nordgren was sent in and he dropped the snap, causing Dusty Mangum to drive the kick along the ground.

 

The ensuing scrum ended with the Aggies' Jaxson Appel on top of the ball in the end zone, giving Texas a rare 1-point safety that tied the game at 13.

 

"I'm a little embarrassed," Brown said. "I didn't know that was a rule."

 

Said A&M coach Dennis Franchione, "I don't know that I've ever seen a one-point safety. That was a unique call."

 

Anyone else ever even heard of a one-point safety? I didn't. Sometimes the referees are amazing to me.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It's bulls***, the ball was kicked, play should have been over.

No it was the correct call..

 

One of the A&M players tried to advance it, then it went into the endzone and the Aggies covered it..

 

now why it was 1pt insted of 2pt I am not positive on, but the rule they showed on TV said that it was 1pt :huh:

 

but again, it was the correct call.. if A&M would have left the ball alone, it would have been nothing.. But once you try to advance it it becomes a 2point conversion attempt insted of a missed XP

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It was the correct call.

 

As soon as a team tries to advance on a two point conversion, the other team is held responsible for picking up a fumble and getting downed in their own endzone. In this case, the Aggies picked up a "fumble" (yes I know it was a botched kick), attempted to advance the ball, and were hit in their own endzone. It was a crazy call, but the right one for the NCAA.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It was the correct call.

 

As soon as a team tries to advance on a two point conversion, the other team is held responsible for picking up a fumble and getting downed in their own endzone.  In this case, the Aggies picked up a "fumble" (yes I know it was a botched kick), attempted to advance the ball, and were hit in their own endzone.  It was a crazy call, but the right one for the NCAA.

Even though it was a messed up kick, it still goes down like it was a blocked kick

 

As soon as A&M tried to advance it, it then became a 2pt conversion attempt

 

and no WHarris1, if A&M would have let it be, Texas wouldnt have gotten 2 points for jumping on it...

 

If A&M woulda let it be, it woulda been nothing but as missed XP

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Seems to me it should just be a touchback, ending the play.  But hey, I don't write the rules.

Yeah, it should be. I don't see why it's any different. At least it didn't affect the outcome of the game, or at least it didn't seem to unless there was some hidden momentum.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yeah, it should be. I don't see why it's any different. At least it didn't affect the outcome of the game, or at least it didn't seem to unless there was some hidden momentum.

The reason it was a 1pt safety is because A&M tried to advance it.. that was their mistake.. If you leave it alone, its a missed XP.. they tried to advance it, which was stupid

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...