Texsox Posted November 27, 2004 Share Posted November 27, 2004 But because the Longhorns' regular holder, wide receiver Tony Jeffery, left the game earlier with a rib injury, backup QB Matt Nordgren was sent in and he dropped the snap, causing Dusty Mangum to drive the kick along the ground. The ensuing scrum ended with the Aggies' Jaxson Appel on top of the ball in the end zone, giving Texas a rare 1-point safety that tied the game at 13. "I'm a little embarrassed," Brown said. "I didn't know that was a rule." Said A&M coach Dennis Franchione, "I don't know that I've ever seen a one-point safety. That was a unique call." Anyone else ever even heard of a one-point safety? I didn't. Sometimes the referees are amazing to me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldmember Posted November 27, 2004 Share Posted November 27, 2004 i'm lost. how did they only get a point for a safety... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WHarris1 Posted November 27, 2004 Share Posted November 27, 2004 It's bulls***, the ball was kicked, play should have been over. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
T R U Posted November 27, 2004 Share Posted November 27, 2004 It's bulls***, the ball was kicked, play should have been over. No it was the correct call.. One of the A&M players tried to advance it, then it went into the endzone and the Aggies covered it.. now why it was 1pt insted of 2pt I am not positive on, but the rule they showed on TV said that it was 1pt but again, it was the correct call.. if A&M would have left the ball alone, it would have been nothing.. But once you try to advance it it becomes a 2point conversion attempt insted of a missed XP Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WHarris1 Posted November 27, 2004 Share Posted November 27, 2004 If A&M would have let it be it would have been a 2 point conversiou for Texas right, if they jumped on it... Sorry, I don't really know the rule for this scenario... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AddisonStSox Posted November 27, 2004 Share Posted November 27, 2004 It was the correct call. As soon as a team tries to advance on a two point conversion, the other team is held responsible for picking up a fumble and getting downed in their own endzone. In this case, the Aggies picked up a "fumble" (yes I know it was a botched kick), attempted to advance the ball, and were hit in their own endzone. It was a crazy call, but the right one for the NCAA. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
T R U Posted November 27, 2004 Share Posted November 27, 2004 It was the correct call. As soon as a team tries to advance on a two point conversion, the other team is held responsible for picking up a fumble and getting downed in their own endzone. In this case, the Aggies picked up a "fumble" (yes I know it was a botched kick), attempted to advance the ball, and were hit in their own endzone. It was a crazy call, but the right one for the NCAA. Even though it was a messed up kick, it still goes down like it was a blocked kick As soon as A&M tried to advance it, it then became a 2pt conversion attempt and no WHarris1, if A&M would have let it be, Texas wouldnt have gotten 2 points for jumping on it... If A&M woulda let it be, it woulda been nothing but as missed XP Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WHarris1 Posted November 27, 2004 Share Posted November 27, 2004 and no WHarris1, if A&M would have let it be, Texas wouldnt have gotten 2 points for jumping on it... especially since you cant get a 2pt conversion when YOUR going in to score Yes you can get a 2 point conversion after you score... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
T R U Posted November 27, 2004 Share Posted November 27, 2004 Yes you can get a 2 point conversion after you score... Yes I know, but if A&M woulda let it be, it would have been nothing.. thats what I meant lemme go back and fix that, my bad Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WHarris1 Posted November 27, 2004 Share Posted November 27, 2004 Yes I know, but if A&M woulda let it be, it would have been nothing.. thats what I meant Alright, I gotcha. Sorry, not familiar with the missed XP rules... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rex Hudler Posted November 27, 2004 Share Posted November 27, 2004 Strange rule.......... one I had never heard of. They showed the explanation on TV last night, but it still seems like a strange rule to me. Seems to me it should just be a touchback, ending the play. But hey, I don't write the rules. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
danman31 Posted November 27, 2004 Share Posted November 27, 2004 Seems to me it should just be a touchback, ending the play. But hey, I don't write the rules. Yeah, it should be. I don't see why it's any different. At least it didn't affect the outcome of the game, or at least it didn't seem to unless there was some hidden momentum. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
T R U Posted November 27, 2004 Share Posted November 27, 2004 Yeah, it should be. I don't see why it's any different. At least it didn't affect the outcome of the game, or at least it didn't seem to unless there was some hidden momentum. The reason it was a 1pt safety is because A&M tried to advance it.. that was their mistake.. If you leave it alone, its a missed XP.. they tried to advance it, which was stupid Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
danman31 Posted November 27, 2004 Share Posted November 27, 2004 The reason it was a 1pt safety is because A&M tried to advance it.. that was their mistake.. If you leave it alone, its a missed XP.. they tried to advance it, which was stupid I know. It remains a stupid rule. It's no different than a touchback. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
T R U Posted November 27, 2004 Share Posted November 27, 2004 I know. It remains a stupid rule. It's no different than a touchback. It is different because A&M tried to advance it.. and if that was a regular play it would have been a 2pt safety.. but your right.. 1pt safety is stupid Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WilliamTell Posted November 28, 2004 Share Posted November 28, 2004 Yeah a 1 point safety would be the right call. That's just plain weird though. I wish I would've seen it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Texsox Posted November 29, 2004 Author Share Posted November 29, 2004 I am guessing that the logic behind 1 point is that the original play was worth 1pt. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.