NYC Sends Gun Confiscation Notice

DukeNukeEm

• Replies 133
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Did NYC say that this "confiscation" would not happen when they passed whatever ordinance that made it possible?

Also, who the hell owns shotguns that can hold 5 shells? There are about 25-30 firearms in my house and none of them would be affected by this law. Obviously, the handguns would be no bueno in NYC :P

QUOTE (DukeNukeEm @ Nov 29, 2013 -> 04:37 PM)
http://www.thetruthaboutguns.com/2013/11/r...cation-notices/

NYC is about to do what we were promised every time weve compromised on guns would never happen.

Never register, never buy at a place that requires a background check. Here comes the round up.

I mean, I'm a pretty big pro-gun supporter, but isn't it illegal to own them in NYC to begin with? (Hell, I don't even think you're allowed to travel through the city with one on your person). So rounding up something that is illegal to own to begin with kind of makes sense, no?

QUOTE (DukeNukeEm @ Nov 29, 2013 -> 03:37 PM)
http://www.thetruthaboutguns.com/2013/11/r...cation-notices/

NYC is about to do what we were promised every time weve compromised on guns would never happen.

Never register, never buy at a place that requires a background check. Here comes the round up.

Jurisprudence from Miller all the way to the most recent SCOTUS looks have all made clear that states and localities have the ability to pass laws regulating guns, including banning certain types of weapons. There are restrictions as to how far those can go, for example the recent City of Chicago cases which mean the end of their handgun bans. But there are still regulations that are allowed. This is not new.