Investing for Beginners

ScootsMcGoots

I need help.

I would like to start investing, but I really don't know where or how to start. It seems like there are so many options...index funds, savings bonds, crypto, Robinhood, and on and on and on. Is there anyone on this board that has lots of experience and can help a brother out? How and where do I start? How much money should I start out with? Can I do this on my own or should I have an advisor? What other questions should I be asking?

Edited by ScootsMcGoots

I’m far from an expert, but lot of variables go into it, most importantly, what you are looking for right now? Short term or long term? Risk or little risk?

Here would be a few very general tips:

- Do your homework, but invest in what you like/believe in. If you’ve never heard of the company and you have no interest in what they produce, don’t invest 

- One of the safest things you can do (in my opinion) is investing in something like VOO, which is the Vanguard S&P 500 ETF. It’s a collection of the stocks traded on the s&p 500 which is fairly safe and also diverse. Its going to move slow but one of the safer ETF’s you can go with 

• Thanks 1

Highly recommend spending money on financial news sources but not investment news sources. WSJ and bloomberg news will help build your strong opinions on what may be undervalued/on the rise/ready to sell. Investment info makes you feel like you should be making constant adjustments.

But yes, i'd just recommend putting aside some money in VOO or SPDR and then when you feel strongly about some individual sector or stock, it will be easier to perform research on its status and how to invest in it.

To me, an advisor is worth it if you have a decent amount of cash/retirement/etc and looking for what to do.  The benefits of what to do from a tax perspective, what types of accounts to have, etc can all be worth it with the right advisor.  

That said, let's talk personal investing.  There are general rules to follow: