Official Steve Alford is an arrogant jerk whose new 10 year contract m

No, this is why. I feel sorry for you guys, Alford is the kiss of death.

My dedication to preventing revision of Iowa's real historical experience with the Alford experiment apparently knows no limits. While I agree with all who say Alford's smug, entitled and egotistic behaivor is hard to distinguish from his failures as a coach, I will reinterate the basketball facts; in a little context.

Lick has HCed as many Sweet 16 teams as Alford.

Dr. Davis, Alford's predecessor at Iowa, won 4 NCAA games in his worst 8 seasons at Iowa, Alford has won a total of 5 in 16 years as HC with his own recruits and 1 more with a mixed Davis/Alford starting line up over his total HC career. Six NCAA wins in 18 seasons as HC.

The one mixed line up win was the only NCAA win in Alford's 8 seasons at Iowa, by far Iowa's longest strectch with only one such win since the NCAA has allowed two teams from one conference to participate---30 years or so.

Alford inherited a team coming off a Sweet 16 and left the first Iowa team with a winning record (17-14) to miss the NCAA and the NIT since my senior year of HS, 76-77.

In eight seasons at Iowa Alford had only 7 recruits play a normal full 8 consecutive semester career at Iowa and also had 7 signed recruits never play a minute at Iowa. That doesn't even begin to tell the story of all the transfers and kids who just quit playing rather than play for Alford.