If the ball and runner get there at the same time, how does 1 ump out of 10 call him out because the ball beat him there?
Yes they can get there at the same time (and do often!)
but it's not ruled as a tie goes to the runner. it's either man beats ball or ball didn't beat man, however you want to look at it
In summary:
There are "ties" at first base where the ball and the runner arrive simultaneously.
The "tie goes to the runner" is not recognized in the rule book.
It is at the umpires discression whether he thinks the runner is safe or out, in other words, a judgement call.
Are we done now?