Smelt Fishing

bmags

Couple questions.

I've been thinking up some different things to do this summer. Smelt season is coming up. I am an amateur, as the questions below will attest.

1) Do you need a boat to smelt fish?

2) Can I just toss my nets in and retrieve them without a boat?

3) Is smelt fishing fun at all or is it like throwing lobster crates into the lake?

Thanks.

-Ben

QUOTE (bmags @ Feb 26, 2013 -> 11:47 AM)
Couple questions.

I've been thinking up some different things to do this summer. Smelt season is coming up. I am an amateur, as the questions below will attest.

1) Do you need a boat to smelt fish?

2) Can I just toss my nets in and retrieve them without a boat?

3) Is smelt fishing fun at all or is it like throwing lobster crates into the lake?

Thanks.

-Ben

1) No, it's done from shore, at least in Chicago.

2) Yes, you need a heavy net anchor to throw, obviously attached to a lot of rope, or a gun to fire the anchor out for you. Obviously, you need the rest of the equipment to hang and drop the net, too.

3) Yes, depending on who you go with. It's a lot of talking and/or discreetly drinking/bbq'ing while you wait to check on the nets, so in that regard, it is somewhat like throwing lobster crates into a lake and waiting. If the smelt are running, you can catch multi-hundreds of them in a few hours. If not, you can catch 2-3 in an entire outing.

4) It's not something you just jump into, you pretty much need to take someone that has the necessary equipment, and knowledge on how to set everything up.

QUOTE (Y2HH @ Feb 26, 2013 -> 03:33 PM)
1) No, it's done from shore, at least in Chicago.

2) Yes, you need a heavy net anchor to throw, obviously attached to a lot of rope, or a gun to fire the anchor out for you. Obviously, you need the rest of the equipment to hang and drop the net, too.