Seems like a missed opportunity

bmags

7 minutes ago, Tony said:

I really believe if Vaughn was a part of the Braves, Rangers, Brewers, etc.....he's a much different player today than he is with the Sox. 

Pretty much any org that has a set of goals for player development, rather than just letting 'em float up in the minors?

9 minutes ago, Boopa1219 said:

I just don’t think Vaughn is very good but I do agree with this and I’ve been saying it for some time, the 2018 and the 2019 drafts are a big reason why the Sox are in the position they find themselves in now. 

Madrigal obviously didn't work out, and eventually turned worse than having him. However, if you look at the 2018 draft, those drafted around him haven't exactly lit it up. You can say some guys picked way lower are doing well, but those guys weren't a consideration for the #3 pick by any team. 

Where the Sox really suck, is they find no diamonds in the rough. They get a high first rounder, he may contribute.  They may get a reliever or two to contribute later in the draft, but historically, their first round pick is about it. 

Think about the insane difference in how those players’ respective development paths were compared to Vaughn. The Sox were the only team to force their guy to the Majors despite not having a 2020 minor league season, the only team to force their guy out of position to one where he’s demonstrably worse, the only team to set MLB expectations on their guy without giving him the benefit of instruction and making him earn the shot.

Idk why but thinking about the handling of Vaughn specifically next to his direct peers like that makes it seem comically abusive in a way that never quite struck me before. 

• Like 4
  • Love 1

25 minutes ago, Eminor3rd said: